TellYouRide

telluride

Over the weekend was the Subaru Freeskiing World Tour Qualifier in Telluride, CO.

The first day skiing we checked out the day one venue and tried to nail down a solid line for the competition. I had 2 picked out and when start came around the following day I went with the less aggressive of the two so that I would make it to the next day. Nothing like going for it too big and not qualifying for finals. I’m still learning my abilities and figuring out what is possible to pull off still in control with solid technique.

day1venue

Athlete meeting that night got us all hyped up not only from the free Corona(relax responsibly!) but for the potential of a heli final from the peak the next morning. “When you are on the lift at 7:30am, if you see and hear a heli then get ready to run from the peak. If it’s overcast and windy we’ll be going from Mountain Quail.” Those of us that didn’t hike the 2 hours and sketch conditions to the peak that day scrambled to find pictures from athletes that did to try and scope some lines.

palmyra-peak

Morning came. It was bluebird and not too much wind. Spotted the heli from the lift and got stoked for an amazing final. About 5 drops into taking all the staff, judges and athletes to the peak the wind kicked up 8 notches and no more drops could be made. Sad face for sure. After a quick vote I strapped my skis to my pack and began my ascent.

calitride-049

I didn’t ski as well as I would’ve liked considering it was a sick venue, decent snow, and the Final run. But things happen, you learn and hope next time you get the heli ride!

I ended up 12th, which is my PR considering it was the first time I’ve made finals. High five me!

Party Time! And per usual all the free Corona you can double fist!

party

Axel, Greer, Tats

Mckenna, Bragg, Ollie

Mckenna, Bragg, Ollie

0 Responses to “TellYouRide”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

