SNOW

It finally hit the Wasatch. It’s working its way to the city but accumulation is sticking where it counts.

totals as of today

This past week I wrote a paper on my similarities with a polar bear. Climate change is doing damage to the bears habitat and feeding/hunting style. What if there were no more polar bears? What would happen to me if winter never came? Here is the last little bit:

The polar bear is a unique Arctic mammal. From its solo life to having the lowest reproductive rate of any mammal it struggles to maintain life as the Northern climate warms. The polar bear cannot live without the snow and ice. These seemingly lifeless cold weather characteristics are essential to its vibrant survival.           *-*-*-*        With one eye closed, not quite awake yet, I enter the bathroom and my heart skips a beat. Outside the window is a large aspen tree and during the fall months the white bark tricks my groggy morning mind into thinking it is covered in snow. This fake out exemplifies how intensely my body longs for the snow after months of summer. I begin to double take dirty white cars in my peripheral, spilled paper from trashcans and bleached rocks. I unintentionally hold my breath hoping that it could actually be winter. Eventually the morning comes when there is actually snow on the tree and this time when my heart skips a beat it resumes faster than before. It is cold. It is snowing. It is winter. My blood is flowing and I could not be happier.

snowline creeping closer to campus

Hope this keeps up for the next few weeks. We’ll have a solid base in no time!

1 Response to “SNOW”


  1. 1 Auntie Crystal October 27, 2010 at 11:56 pm

    Hi Erin, your mom sent me your blog address so I can keep up with you. You know I’m not on FB yet, but may have to remedy that soon. I’ve lost track of my nieces and nephew and I want to see what my kids put up there too. So, glad to have your blog again.
    I just read your snow report and I got shivers reading it. Now maybe its because I got cold, but I really think your writing is great. I can’t wait to read more.
    I’m sorry we are not coming for Tday, but it just wasn’t the right fit this year. Maybe next year or summer time. I might like to come in the summer. OK, well take care. Love you.


Leave a Reply

